Hacker Newsnew | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submitlogin

Oh they aren't a frontier on this. Undoing user configuration is well tested in Windows land.
 help



This is a problem everywhere, Apple does the same thing on MacOS by reverting privacy/security grants to apps

Reverting... to on? I've seen some stuff in Apple-land where I'm pretty sure it went back to the default option after an update but I've never seen anything get granted more permissions.

No, like specific apps that have been granted full disk access etc lose their permissions. It’s hell for IT, constantly breaks AV. I would not characterize that as reverting to a default. More often it’s a breaking change for how the security model works that ends up requiring reauthorization

Ah, sure, it's annoying but it's never giving new permissions you didn't give it before. And yes "revert to default" is probably not what's happening, but reverting to forcing a specific permission grant when the existing one was superceeded or replaced.

Fair, it’s still an example of them not respecting user configuration

I understand the rationale. The app you granted full disk access three months ago might have significantly changed. You can't reset the permissions for a given app after every update, as you might end up prompting the user three times per week.

The alternative would be keeping a permission granted for an app that might have had an update introducing nefarious behavior, whether intentional or not.

Annoying yes, but least bad.


"Remember my choice", right?:)



Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: